Here at BensBargains we often feel compelled to buy the very deals we post. Some products turn out to be everything we expected, while other products fall short of our expectations. Coming into the new year, I was thinking of how to make this site even more useful, and it occurred to me that we can share our own experiences with these products by doing product reviews. These won't be multi-page write-ups that take 30 minutes to read, but rather a concise statement of how the product performed versus our expectations. Feel free to share your opinions in each review discussion, as well as to contact us about products that you'd like to see us tackle.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    rocketpunch Ben's cred: 19
    Posted 6:58 pm PST 01/29/08

    Ben it will only work if there is a separate registration for users that wants to be a "reviewer", and each reviewer must have a rating system so people can tell how relevant their reviews will be.


    There are just too many trolls here. Case in point, like "toddsucks", he will trash anything SONY makes.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    maximillian Ben's cred: 185
    Posted 6:58 pm PST 01/29/08

    How about linking to other and multiple existing review sites? There's a bunch out there besides CC and Amazon. For example, since I was in the market for some speakers recently, CC and Amazon reviews sucked for reviews. I originally bought a SONY speaker because of these reviews. Then people on this forum clued me in and I went to other review sites like audioreview.com and Polk's own product review section. Much more informative. So posting multiple review sites per product, and perhaps even maintaining a permanent review section on this site might be helpful.

    I agree with other people too, we need a moderation system to downvote trolls. Something like Slashdot?

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    PornStarMom Ben's cred: 23
    Posted 7:02 pm PST 01/29/08

    People that come here are smart. They don't need some dissertation from some blowhard who need to post their comments in two post because they reach the post length limit in one.


    Oh look at me! I am so burp smart, I type pretty words

    I am so burp proud of my wall of words. When I re-read my comments over and over, I get so burp hard, cause I am so burp smart.


    Yada yada yada.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    coronetblue Ben's cred: 52
    Posted 7:04 pm PST 01/29/08

    Ben, whatever you do must be moderated.

    Usually products of substance already have reviews at other sites - these can be linked in by us or yourself.

    Moderation is key.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    CompWiz17 Ben's cred: 515
    Posted 7:11 pm PST 01/29/08

    #42: well, while that may be useful for some products, there's still a lot more information that people may want to know about products than what can be found on an amazon site. And, no one wants to read through multiple reviews just to find some useful information. Plus, for many products, there are not any useful reviews around. If there was a place on this site where people could post their personal experiences with a product, or a summary of multiple other reviews of a product(say, benchmarks, pros/cons, quality), it would be very useful in a way that linking to amazon reviews never would be.

    Why link to another site when we clearly have members here who are capable of doing this?

    The problem with having a system to downvote trolls on this site, is that there is no way to know how many accounts the trolls have. If one of them makes 20 accounts on here, and uses them to downvote useful posts and posters they don't like, that would ruin the system.

    #41: well, you could just set it up so that all reviews have to be submitted to ben, then he'll post them up in the reviews section if they're good.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    CompWiz17 Ben's cred: 515
    Posted 7:17 pm PST 01/29/08

    #44: ever seen a good review of the Sigma Shark 635W Power Supply? How about the Apevia 420W or 750watt Power Supply? For many of the products here, there really is no review that you can just simply link to. Plus, customer reviews are known to be inaccurate in many cases, and I could point to quite a few examples of website reviews that are also inaccurate, or sorely laking important information. In some cases, you can only find out about a product by looking up information from a variety of sources, and similar products from the same manufacturer, and putting it together with forum posts you dig up around the net. There is no definitive review that you can link to for most of the products posted here.

    I do completely agree about the moderating. Whether it's ben doing it, a couple forum member volunteers doing it, or whatever, it really needs to be done. A few people here are ruining the site for the rest of us, and driving people away.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    PornStarMom Ben's cred: 23
    Posted 7:18 pm PST 01/29/08

    Don't worry, your posts will keep trolls and most everyone else away.


    Drone.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    jerryslacks Ben's cred: 90
    Posted 7:26 pm PST 01/29/08

    i have a hand/thumbs up pose like the item pictured. it is quite a good item and while it was OOS at first from the vendor, i would not trade this one for another

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    groovielou Ben's cred: 83
    Posted 7:27 pm PST 01/29/08

    What pisses me off, I haven't been included in anyones moderation list. Its the same ol' m0f0, toddsucks 1&2.... NOT ME!

    Well, I will just have to concentrate on pissing more people off.

    baconeer

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    itzsm00th Ben's cred: 110
    Posted 7:36 pm PST 01/29/08

    Quote:
    I would sincerely like to ask CumJizz17, just how does one go about becoming quite to anally retentive as you? *smirk*


    "ENGLISH MUDDAFUGGA! DO YOU SPEAK IT?!"

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    1 Ben's cred: 76
    Posted 7:37 pm PST 01/29/08

    Lol. Do you guys really think Ben give a baconnaise about what you say? Stop acting all high and mighty.
    A troll free forum does not exist.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    guildin Ben's cred: 1
    Posted 7:42 pm PST 01/29/08

    Great idea, i just hope the site sticks with it
    Jeremy lesser garbage on these sites, stick to the facts and deals~~~

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    steve42 Ben's cred: 5
    Posted 7:43 pm PST 01/29/08

    What it comes down to is this...

    Does Ben want a serious website devoted to finding the best deals for the best products, or is he happy with every adolescent with an internet connection and free time before his next scheduled MMORPG session posting obscenities just to see if he can out swear the next guy that posts?

    If Ben cleaned up this nonsense, I'd point more of my friends to the site as a serious source of information. As it is, I check it and find the deals, but I don't send people I respect over here.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    1 Ben's cred: 76
    Posted 7:48 pm PST 01/29/08

    #53, you are a hero for preventing your friends from getting hurt by the internet. Truly, you deserve a medal.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    1 Ben's cred: 76
    Posted 7:51 pm PST 01/29/08

    wow #46, you are worse than m0f0.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    CompWiz17 Ben's cred: 515
    Posted 7:55 pm PST 01/29/08

    Hmm, now that I reread ben's post, I think that by "us", he means the bensbargains staff, not us members. Perhaps that will change eventually.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Dealstructurer Ben's cred: 14
    Posted 7:56 pm PST 01/29/08

    Ben ... I think a rating system with short comments would be best ... it takes a little effort to fill out or click in the boxes and defines ownership or whatever criterion ... Newegg has a decent system.

    There is already dialog in this site ... and what I have seen it won't mature unless there is moderation that kicks off the losers.

    With a rating system ... only the zero rating with short comments need be more heavily monitored. The total positive comments usually aren't from losers.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Knarly Ben's cred: 94
    Posted 8:01 pm PST 01/29/08

    >I WOULD LIKE A REBATE REVIEW SYSTEM<

    I get really tired of companies the resist or flat out do not pay rebates.

    A list of company cames along with a 0 to 5 stars for their actually paying the rebate.

    O to 5 for ease of getting it

    And some type of time feedback in months. How long did it take to get the rebate.

    Also, KWORLD should be banned from this site for their totally dishonest rebate fraud.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    m0f0 Ben's cred: 761
    Posted 8:13 pm PST 01/29/08

    CumJizz17 wrote:
    Hmm, now that I reread ben's post, I think that by "us", he means the bensbargains staff, not us members. Perhaps that will change eventually.


    Way to have an over-inflated view of your self-importance, CopyAndPaste17. The truth of the matter is that your exceedingly boring plagiaristic posts drive members away. No-one likes a brown nosing, ass kissing nerd, especially one with as little common sense as you. *smirk*

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Broly Ben's cred: 33
    Posted 8:16 pm PST 01/29/08

    No, I don't like this.

Already a member? Sign in below.

Forgot Password?
Sign in with Facebook

Registration takes seconds! Once registered youll have members only access to:

  • Deal Alert email notifications
  • Giveaways for the hottest products
  • Newsletter for events and holiday promotions
  • Deal comments and discussions
  • The best deal community, ever
or
X Close

The best deals, product reviews, and giveaway announcements emailed directly to you!

Sign up now for the Ben's Bargains newsletter!

Email address is not valid

X Close

Thanks! You can also register an account with us to be eligible for Giveaway Entries, Deal Alerts, and Comments.