Here at BensBargains we often feel compelled to buy the very deals we post. Some products turn out to be everything we expected, while other products fall short of our expectations. Coming into the new year, I was thinking of how to make this site even more useful, and it occurred to me that we can share our own experiences with these products by doing product reviews. These won't be multi-page write-ups that take 30 minutes to read, but rather a concise statement of how the product performed versus our expectations. Feel free to share your opinions in each review discussion, as well as to contact us about products that you'd like to see us tackle.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    g_buns Ben's cred: 12
    Posted 8:17 pm PST 01/29/08

    cool.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    crooklyn Ben's cred: 5
    Posted 8:38 pm PST 01/29/08

    This is a great idea, and I think it will be well received. However, I agree with most that there must be a way of moderation on these boards.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Ghost Rider Ben's cred: 469
    Posted 8:55 pm PST 01/29/08

    Review is nice- if Ben can get rid of some non-sense posting and leave only real product discussion in there.
    Good luck!Ben.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    lawnsprinkler Ben's cred: 191
    Posted 8:59 pm PST 01/29/08

    This whole thread is non-sense posting. Ben's not soliciting ideas for the website, just for products, you trolls should ban yourselves.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    bigsister49 Ben's cred: 25
    Posted 9:00 pm PST 01/29/08

    Why isn't "bacon" banned? He does nothing but post the same pictures and nonsense over and over again. His posts are ruining these forums.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    beaulen Ben's cred: 6
    Posted 9:03 pm PST 01/29/08

    One of the reasons I visit this site is to see useful comments about the products. The comments at some other sites like fatbacon are mainly about how to get more stuff for less money, not really a bad thing, but some of the comments here are actually about the product and how well/poorly it works. It's pretty easy to pick out the moron comments. A comment rating system like they have at FW might work OK.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    wormser Ben's cred: 10
    Posted 9:07 pm PST 01/29/08

    Nice touch =)

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    tomz Ben's cred: 2
    Posted 9:12 pm PST 01/29/08

    We have Amazon for reviews. What value will you add?

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    sleepydog Ben's cred: 27
    Posted 9:23 pm PST 01/29/08

    There is some exceptionaly good information I've gotten from other users on Ben's, but the nuggets of gold can get lost in the teen trash talk. How about Slashdot type self moderation? comments are voted up or down (like Digg) and the default reading level skips the lowest rated comments.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    lawnsprinkler Ben's cred: 191
    Posted 9:32 pm PST 01/29/08

    Who'd read your comments then, #69? Your comment isn't exactly a "nugget of gold." More like a chunky turd.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nuisance Ben's cred: 1037
    Posted 9:45 pm PST 01/29/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    dizzymon247 Ben's cred: 145
    Posted 9:48 pm PST 01/29/08

    The pictures made me buy a lot of the products on this site. I use to go with other forums but they didn't post pictures and links tend to be broken most of the time. The reviews here should be regulated to ensure the quality of the reviews. Unlike Amazon which tends to have really crappy reviews by kids sometimes as well as CNET or those other sites. I usually go to the consumerguide sites to get a thorough review but the problem is the vendors where these products are bought is just as important as the products themselves. Maybe have a review or rating for each vendor and product pro/con per item that way we can get a more complete review of the items that show up on bens.


    You can set thresh holds to regular the policing of bad posts by having posters reach certain goal in order for their posts to be removed or flagged as bad and not show up in the forums so that we don't get ton of useless information. I know craigslist uses this to allow the users to police the forums.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    just_a_guy Ben's cred: 44
    Posted 10:05 pm PST 01/29/08

    bacon and Compwiz are really trying hard to get into contention for a moderator position that is all but a mere suggestion at this point. That they want it so bad is exactly why neither of them should get it, if there even comes a need for mods. bacon is really little more than a troll incognito anyway. If the site was going to be moderated, it should have happened a long time ago.

    As for the topic at hand, product reviews would be nice, but wouldn't make a major difference to me.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    m0f0 Ben's cred: 761
    Posted 10:25 pm PST 01/29/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    showell Ben's cred: 36
    Posted 10:40 pm PST 01/29/08

    #60, I know, you only like 500GB 2.5" HDD deal.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    lawnsprinkler Ben's cred: 191
    Posted 11:43 pm PST 01/29/08

    #71, why be a moderator when you're already a motheraper for what you've done to #74.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    outstandin Ben's cred: 1
    Posted 11:49 pm PST 01/29/08

    I'll tell you one thing, I've been surfing for 21 years and this is the number one bargain blog. Period. The end. Outstandin

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nuisance Ben's cred: 1037
    Posted 11:49 pm PST 01/29/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    lawnsprinkler Ben's cred: 191
    Posted 12:00 am PST 01/30/08

    I'm sorry #78, I didn't realize I was talking to directly to someone who's held the prestigious position of forum moderator. What happened to those forums? Did they die, were you fired, or did you just quit because you couldn't hack it?

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    HotTub Ben's cred: 26
    Posted 3:54 am PST 01/30/08

    Product reviews will never work. Ben's comments section is nothing but one big **** pot full of kids with raging hormones that have only one thing on their mind and it's sure not contributing anything useful to the site. I few people try to write meaningful comments but to often get slammed with obscene comments from the usual bunch of pervs.
    I try to spend as little time as possible in this area of the board.

Already a member? Sign in below.

Forgot Password?
Sign in with Facebook

Registration takes seconds! Once registered youll have members only access to:

  • Deal Alert email notifications
  • Giveaways for the hottest products
  • Newsletter for events and holiday promotions
  • Deal comments and discussions
  • The best deal community, ever
or
X Close

The best deals, product reviews, and giveaway announcements emailed directly to you!

Sign up now for the Ben's Bargains newsletter!

Email address is not valid

X Close

Thanks! You can also register an account with us to be eligible for Giveaway Entries, Deal Alerts, and Comments.