Here at BensBargains we often feel compelled to buy the very deals we post. Some products turn out to be everything we expected, while other products fall short of our expectations. Coming into the new year, I was thinking of how to make this site even more useful, and it occurred to me that we can share our own experiences with these products by doing product reviews. These won't be multi-page write-ups that take 30 minutes to read, but rather a concise statement of how the product performed versus our expectations. Feel free to share your opinions in each review discussion, as well as to contact us about products that you'd like to see us tackle.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    cadaver Ben's cred: 305
    Posted 4:08 am PST 01/30/08

    It's easy enough for us to ignore the rodeo cowboy, and the rodeo cowboy on this thread are not adding anything to the discussion by mentioning who they think are the biggest offenders. Banning accounts is a good idea.

    Ben, does your software support polling?

    On the subject of useful reviews, I used to trust those at Amazon but recently doubt has crept in more so on the music reviews and books than other products. Since Ben does not offer books as a general rule I see his site as another alternative to the reviews on other sites.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    hoosur Ben's cred: 10
    Posted 5:19 am PST 01/30/08

    Didn't bother reading through the 80+ previous comments, so I hope this isn't redundant.

    If possible, it would be nice to have separate dialogues: One for actual product reviews, the other for chat (from mainly pre-pubescent, homophobic children).

    If that isn't feasible, then perhaps you could police the chats more frequently and get rid of the clowns that pollute the forum.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    hoarybat Ben's cred: 20
    Posted 6:18 am PST 01/30/08

    Ben, sounds good! Let's give it a whirl. Reviews might not help those 24hr deals where its over before you can make a decision but it may help. Thing is I inherently see a bargain here and then try Amazon to read the reviews there before buying it here!

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    wsniper1 Ben's cred: 33
    Posted 6:54 am PST 01/30/08

    How about tackling Home Theater projectors.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nuisance Ben's cred: 1037
    Posted 6:58 am PST 01/30/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Pilgrim374 Ben's cred: 4
    Posted 7:05 am PST 01/30/08

    I have always appreciated Ben's deals, but I suggest that where buyers have repeatedly reported a particular vendor for substandard performance, that Ben should consider this before making a recommendation, or at least noting it in the listing.

    In particular I had miserable experiences with Philips outlet on two separate occasions as have many other buyers - others have reported good experiences with Philips, but let the buyer be aware.

    Thanks

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Casecutter Ben's cred: 1505
    Posted 7:48 am PST 01/30/08

    I like the review idea, but with people like this noob “PornStarMom” it's never going to work. Kill this persons account... I can put up with some of our jokers but it appears the forms are being inundated with foul mouths who have no real use in life.

    Here’s an idea, have a “Who got Dump Yesterday” category. Just allow readers to vote on if the post is tasteless and worth being banned. Something like what Craiglist has, where inappropriate posts get flagged then the account is reviewed and dropped. It might take only a few weeks to shape things up – and then posts would become helpful.

    Sincerely,

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    andrew4540 Ben's cred: 3
    Posted 8:08 am PST 01/30/08

    I think this is a good idea, and would help this site out immensely.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    basslaker Ben's cred: 2
    Posted 8:16 am PST 01/30/08

    I think this a great idea. I often check web sites for reviews of products and I really don't believe that there ever enough. I agree those that would like to limit the useless posts. On the other hand sometimes I read a stream of funny posts. The suggestion to split the forums sounds good to me.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    slikkster Ben's cred: 35
    Posted 8:19 am PST 01/30/08

    I've always been amazed that Ben hasn't seen the wisdom of providing a clean place (aka moderated) for commenting. The anonymous kiddies who simply come here to throw in rodeo cowboy and immature remarks bring nothing, and worse, keep the site from reaching a wider audience. But hey, I'm just someone with common sense. Guess we can't expect that from everyone.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Douche Ben's cred: 13
    Posted 8:21 am PST 01/30/08

    I don't have time to read all of these posts, but I just wanted to say - way to try to limit free speech #1 thru #9. Last time I checked Ben's site doesn't endorse communism.

    wine in a box

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    Ander Ben's cred: 41
    Posted 8:46 am PST 01/30/08

    it's a good idea, i doubt it can be done unless there are stricter posting policies and a way to keep someone from making multiple accounts. During the gift giveaways, I saw multiple variations of the same user name posted around with the same useless comments just to up the post count just to qualify for those free giveaways. If something can be done about that then it's a novel idea, but it would still require some moderating to ensure that certain groups of people aren't on a rampage to vote certain people out and such. I'd like to see it happen, but there needs to be some drastic changes.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    milf_hunter Ben's cred: 289
    Posted 9:00 am PST 01/30/08

    This is a crappy deal site compared to others. If it weren't for the humour here, no one would come. Face reality, biitches.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    milf_hunter Ben's cred: 289
    Posted 9:03 am PST 01/30/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nuisance Ben's cred: 1037
    Posted 9:07 am PST 01/30/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    kewidogg Ben's cred: 30
    Posted 9:36 am PST 01/30/08

    I don't even think they are kids. I'd wager they are adolescents with very little to do or womens to admire

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    milf_hunter Ben's cred: 289
    Posted 9:51 am PST 01/30/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    rdcollns Ben's cred: 98
    Posted 10:29 am PST 01/30/08

    [Sorry, I don't have time to read the previous posts so this may be redundant.]

    I would recommend every post has a thumbs up, thumbs down vote tag. Then on the each bargain you can have a "Reviews" link next to "history" which would show the top ten rated posts historically (possibly by percentage).

    You could alternatively have a link next to the "Submit" button tagged "Submit for Review" that would go through some sort of moderated review. It seems that would require a lot more work, but then if it passes moderation, Ben could add it to the "Review" category, and if one product receives a plethora of reviews, say above 20, they could be cut in half based on relavence.

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nuisance Ben's cred: 1037
    Posted 10:30 am PST 01/30/08

    Removed by forum Administrator

  • Was this useful?
    Voting ...
    0 0
    nikko Ben's cred: 72
    Posted 10:47 am PST 01/30/08

    So, I don't get it. You're looking for ways to "make the site better" and the way you've chosen to do it is to tell people to write reviews in the same "discussion" threads that have been here all along for presumably that exact purpose?

Already a member? Sign in below.

Forgot Password?
Sign in with Facebook

Registration takes seconds! Once registered youll have members only access to:

  • Deal Alert email notifications
  • Giveaways for the hottest products
  • Newsletter for events and holiday promotions
  • Deal comments and discussions
  • The best deal community, ever
or
X Close

The best deals, product reviews, and giveaway announcements emailed directly to you!

Sign up now for the Ben's Bargains newsletter!

Email address is not valid

X Close

Thanks! You can also register an account with us to be eligible for Giveaway Entries, Deal Alerts, and Comments.